Dixie Darr

Holiday Madness

In Arvada, Christmas, Church on November 15, 2018 at 8:46 am

Over the years, I have simplified my Christmas about as much as I can without eliminating it entirely. I’ve taken a couple of classes and read a book or two about turning away from the over-commercialized, frenzied holiday that seems like an American tradition and focusing on the true meaning of Christmas.

I don’t go to parties, give/receive gifts (which also means no shopping or wrapping), bake cookies, have a big family dinner, or any of the other things most people seem to find necessary. For decorations, I have two small trees filled with beloved ornaments, a few teddy bears culled from a larger collection, and a glass urn of colorful balls that don’t fit on the trees. I make chili for Christmas eve before going to our beautiful candlelight service at church and ham and scalloped potatoes for Christmas dinner. Calm and peaceful.

Yet this year I’m feeling overwhelmed and it isn’t even Thanksgiving yet. This Saturday I’m going to a concert of a friend’s women’s chorus, and Sunday is our Thanksgiving potluck at church. After that, everything seems like a mad scramble until the end of the year.

For church alone, I have the tree lighting, a soup and carol sing, a Christmas concert, blue Christmas service. I’m opting out of the hanging of the greens and cookie baking and I’m thankful that this year the children’s pageant (always a hoot) will be during our regular service on December 23.

I plan to attend the tree lighting in the Olde Town Arvada square to hear the Arvada Chorale, and I’ll send a few Christmas cards although probably not my usual letter this year.

Finally, I will write my third annual literary advent posts in the days leading to the big event. That’s more than enough for me.

I stand in awe of my friends with both kids and jobs who manage to make it through the season with grace and joy and a semblance of sanity.

Leave a comment