Dixie Darr

Open the Doors

In Church, writing on August 3, 2017 at 6:13 am


I’ve never been a student of history. I hear the quotation “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it” and I think, “yeah, yeah, yeah.” I tend to agree with Kurt Vonnegut that “we’re doomed to repeat the past no matter what.”
So maybe I wasn’t the best person to update our church’s history for our 125th anniversary later this year. On the other hand, I am the oldest member of the trustees, the one who’s been at Highlands the longest, and the only one who ever worked as a writer.
Lucky for me, the history of the first 100 years had already been written in 1992 by the late Ruth Wiberg, author of the still popular Rediscovering Northwest Denver and a lifelong member of our church.
It’s the only church I’ve attended as an adult, and I probably take it for granted because I have nothing to compare it with. Interviewing former pastors and longtime members is teaching me what a special place it is.
They speak fondly of their time here. They describe the congregation as “open,” “caring,” and “kind.” Members who move to another state tell us they hope to find another church just like ours.
My favorite Christian author, John Pavlovitz, once proposed starting the Church of Not Being Horrible, whose sacred calling is “to be decent, to be kind, to be compassionate, to be whatever it is that we believe the world is lacking.”
I think we are that church.
We trustees have charge over the building, making sure it lives on into the future. Sometimes I have to remind myself that the church isn’t the building, it’s the people. Nobody’s perfect here, but we’re all trying to do the best we can, be the best we can, and help one another as best we can.
It’s that kind of place.

Leave a Reply

