Dixie Darr

We Are the World

In Uncategorized on July 3, 2017 at 6:03 am

 

 

 

 

 

 

“This land is your land, this land is my land
From California to the New York Island
From the Redwood Forest, to the Gulf stream waters
This land was made for you and me”
We sang the chorus with gusto, and then we faded out when the verse came along. When the chorus returned, we sang out.
I was at the spring concert of Safonia, my friend Marla’s women’s chorus, and the theme was folk music. She asked us to sing along with this classic. Listen to the story of how it was written here.
Sung by everyone from Pete Seeger to Lady Gaga, it’s been called an alternative American anthem as well as a Marxist response to “God Bless America.”
It’s fun to sing, although a little jingoistic for me. I prefer the hymn, “This is My Song,” sung to the haunting tune of Jean Sibelius’ Finlandia because while it acknowledges “This is my home, the country where my heart is, Here are my hopes, my dreams, my holy shrine,” it also points out “But other hearts in other lands are beating, With hopes and dreams as true and high as mine.”
Take a look at the photograph of the earth from outer space and you notice that there are no barriers between countries, nothing that shows conflicts between governments or division of races.
In fact, some scientists accept the Gaia hypothesis, which proposes that our planet itself is a breathing, living organism. This fits my personal theology.
The Earth is not just our environment, according to Thich Nhat Hanh, Buddhist monk and Zen master. “We are the Earth. The Earth is us. We have always been one with the earth.”
Once you accept this, Finlandia makes even more sense. “O hear my song, thou God of all the nations, A song of peace for their land and for mine.”
This is my song.

Leave a Reply

