Dixie Darr

Truth or Consequences

In spirituality on June 30, 2017 at 6:21 am


This doesn’t show me in a good light.
I was already mad from our previous discussion about the Orange Monster when she said this, and I blew up.
She was telling me about her friend with a severely disabled son whose insurance was ending. Instead of doing anything about it, the friend shrugged and said, “Jesus will provide.”
My friend said, “I know that’s true if people really believe,” and I said,
“Bullshit.”
I warned you I come off looking bad.
This is the kind of pious passivity that makes me crazy.
You think that when people lose their jobs or lose their health or lose their fu**ing lives it’s because they didn’t believe in Jesus enough? Or didn’t pray hard enough? Or didn’t live a Christian enough life (whatever that means).What about people from other religions? Are they just out of luck because Jesus only helps his own? Where is that in the Bible?
No, really, I wonder about these things.
It reminds me of the old story about a devout man caught in a flood. A rescue boat came and offered to row him to safety, but he sent them away saying, “I have faith in God. I trust God will care for me.” So the rowboat left. Soon the floodwaters were up to his neck. A second rowboat came to rescue him and again he dismissed it. Finally, the water got so high that the man could barely breathe through his mouth and nose. A helicopter flew over and let down a ladder to rescue him. “Come up,” they said, “we will take you to safety.” “No,” he cried. “God will save me,” and sent the helicopter away. However, it continued to rain, the waters rose, and finally, he drowned.
He went to heaven and stood before God. “I had so much faith in you,” he said. “I believed in you so fully. I prayed and tried to follow your will. I just don’t understand.” At this point, God scratched his head and said, “I don’t understand either! I sent you two rowboats and a helicopter.”
The God I believe in expects us to use our brains, expects us to help ourselves. My faith provides comfort when bad things happen, but doesn’t prevent bad things from happening. Maybe I’m doing it wrong.

I always liked Harrison Ford’s response to “May the Force be with you.” He said, “Force yourself.”

Leave a Reply

