Dixie Darr

These Two

In Uncategorized on June 28, 2017 at 10:02 am

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When Griffin was born nine years ago, he was the first baby in our family since his mother was born 37 years before that, and I became a great aunt (well, I was always a great aunt). His sister, Harper, came three years later.

They live in Phoenix, so I only get to see them once or twice a year when they come to stay with their grandparents. While I wish they lived closer so I could see them more frequently, three or four hours at a time is about all I can take of these perpetual motion machines. After their grandparents move to Tucson in a couple of years, I’ll see them less than that.

Last night was my chance to get caught up with them this year. Both are smart and sweet and profoundly silly. I’ve heard that kids laugh about 300 times a day while adults laugh only five times. Spending time with them puts me several weeks ahead on my fun quota.

Griffin likes science and social studies. His science project this year imagined a tour through our solar system including visits to Jupiter’s moons and surfing (!) the rings of Saturn. He still counts Pluto as a planet no matter what Neil deGrasse Tyson says.

Harper’s favorite subjects are art and math, although at heart she is a performer who says she “never” gets stage fright. She recently had eight inches cut off her never before shorn hair so she’d look more like Taylor Swift.

Both love sports. They swim every day and run. Harper takes gymnastics and Griffin likes baseball and basketball. They may go to a sports camp this summer to learn archery.

My brother said an aunt’s job is to rile them up and then go home. He thinks I do it very well.

I think my job as their great aunt is simply to love them to distraction. I do that very well, too.

Leave a Reply

