Dixie Darr

Church is a Verb

In Church on June 20, 2017 at 9:54 am

Photo by Mollie Pfeiffer

When I left church on Sunday, I went to Carl’s, a little hole in the wall Italian restaurant that’s been a North Denver institution for more than 60 years. I have lunch there after church most weeks. I go alone to eat my sausage sandwich, read, write, and think.

I was wearing my Pride tee shirt, which mirrors the small banners on our church tower, “We are PROUD that God loves all people.” My favorite waitress said she had seen the banners on our church and “they give me chills because I know you’re representing God.” That caught me by surprise.

As the inimitable Laverne Cox said, “When you put love out in the world it travels, and it can touch people and reach people in ways that we never even expected.” Clearly, Ms. Cox knows whereof she speaks.

We’ve all seen in the last six months how much havoc one man can wreak on our country and our world, and we know it will take droves of good people years to heal that damage. Yet we can’t let the immensity of the harm done paralyze us. We have to find ways to bring more goodness into the world. That’s why my church:

–installed a bicycle repair station for the neighborhood

–distributed free vegetable seeds at the street fair and asked people to return part of their harvest to feed the homeless

–houses a homeless family while they wait for permanent housing

–provides low-cost office and studio space for local nonprofit organizations

–raises money and assembles relief kits for victims of disaster
It’s why our little kids collect our spare change every month to fight HIV/AIDS or malaria or to help the homeless.

While none of these things will make a dent in solving the major problems of our time, we have “to do what (we) can, moment by moment, day by day, step by step, to make this world a better place,” according to Richard Bolles, the late author of What Color is Your Parachute? That’s our mission on earth.

Slowly, I’m learning that church isn’t merely a place we go on Sunday morning; it’s something we do.

Leave a Reply

