Dixie Darr

Why I love Facebook

In Auntie Flat on May 31, 2017 at 9:55 am

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two words: connection and information.

The very best thing about Facebook is seeing pictures of my great niece and nephew who live in Arizona (I don’t know why) and of which I don’t see nearly enough (pictures, that is), Keryn.

I check Facebook when I first get up and many times throughout the day, too. I even check it when I wake up in the middle of the night because the beauty of Facebook is that it’s always there, and you never know who else might be awake, too. At my age, a lot of us are up in the wee hours.

Here’s a sampling of what I saw there this morning.

A test about how to tell personality from hand size.

Several posts making fun of the person in the White House.

A cartoon about right wing Christians and their inexplicable and repulsive focus on same sex marriage.

An article about the Russians and the White House.

A list of 26 things under $10. I love these lists and always find something silly (a service that’ll send anyone in the world a potato with a message of your choice on it) and something I might actually buy (a magnifying glass with its own built-in stand).

An exchange before 6 a.m. with my pastor about a comment I made on FB yesterday.

A short article about parenting using the book Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 tales of extraordinary women. I’d heard of this before from a friend who got it for her almost-five-year old. I went immediately to Amazon and found that it’s now available in Kindle, but still expensive at $19.99. The hardcover is $35! I’m waiting for it to come to library. At Amazon, I also discovered several other books about strong/capable/smart/legendary women for girls.

An ad about converting $3571 Amish woodsheds complete with shutters and porches into tiny homes.

Post about the man in the White House being a national embarrassment. This came from a man I knew slightly in high school and have become friends with on FB because of our similar political views. See? It lets us connect with old friends as well as make new ones.

More about the Russian scandal from Rachel Maddow.

A photo of a new painting from a favorite artist.

An interview with a couple who just moved into a Tiny House On Wheels, which I saved to Evernote because it could have information useful for the book I am allegedly writing.

Several inspirational quotes.

Posts about what several friends are up to today or maybe last night as I’m an early to bed and early to rise kind of person.

I appreciate that Facebook brings me all this in the comfort of my own home and on my own schedule. I control (to some extent) what things appear on my page. For instance, I no longer see hate-filled conspiracy theories since I unfriended a few people or they unfriended me.

Best of all are the new friends it brings me, people I see briefly in real life and now know what we have in common. Instead of being “Facebook friends” we’ve become real friends.

Leave a Reply

