Dixie Darr

Lasso of Truth

In Learning, work on May 29, 2017 at 3:29 am

It wasn’t a big deal. The Alamo Drafthouse in Austin announced a single showing of the new movie Wonder Woman for women only, and the trolls swarmed all over the internet, probably creeping out of their mothers’ basements. Oh, sorry, was that offensive?

“Have you ever hosted a men’s only showing of any film?” they asked, and “Imagine the sh–storm if there was any male only showing of anything…or a private showing for a specific race or sexual orientation.” Other people said they would pay for men to come and say they identify as women.

The theater responded with, “We’ve never done showings where you had to be a man to get in, but we *did* show the Entourage movie a few years ago.”

It takes me back to when I was the director of the Women’s Center at Front Range Community College. I couldn’t walk down the long main hallway without some man thinking he was terribly clever and original asking why there wasn’t a men’s center. “The world is a men’s center,” was my stock answer.

Straight, white men, I said, shaking my head, rolling my eyes, and sighing simultaneously. I swear. They just can’t handle not being the center of everything. If they’re not in charge, they think they’re being discriminated against.

Not all of them, of course. I know some perfectly lovable straight white men, but I’ve run across my share of stinkers, too. More than my fair share.

Back then, the college was a well-known boy’s club, with men heading every single department. Probably the best thing I did during my miserable tenure there was in 1984 when I asked a friend to make (pink) buttons proclaiming, “Big SISTER is watching you” for many of the female staffers to wear.

One straight white male colleague pulled me aside to whine that the buttons made him uncomfortable, even intimidated. I suppose he thought appealing to my feminine sympathies would make me back off.

He didn’t know me very well. I laughed in his face and said, “Good.” Mission accomplished.

Not nice? I was sick of being nice.

The Alamo Drafthouse isn’t playing “nice” either. Their swift and brilliant response was to open ladies only screenings in several other cities, with some donating proceeds to Planned Parenthood.

They also encouraged the bellyaching men to continue supporting gender equality by protesting the casting of movie leads (71% male) and higher pay for male actors.

Yeah, that’ll happen.

Leave a Reply

