Dixie Darr

Must Love Dogs and Cats

In spirituality on May 26, 2017 at 5:40 am

I found this by Barbara Abercrombie on my Facebook page from four years ago:

Five Things to Learn from Dogs:
1. Be tenacious and curious about everything
2. Abandon yourself to joy on occasion
3. At all times, follow what you love
4. Have a steadfast and loyal heart
5. Work hard and sleep well

Isn’t that the sweetest tribute to dogs? I especially like #2 and will try to remember that advice.

But as you probably know, I’m a cat person, so I set out to find a similar list of things to learn from my beloved kitties. Of course, dogs aren’t the same as cats, which is why we have dog people and cat people in the first place. Cats are more aloof and mysterious and more self-reliant, all admirable qualities, right? Therefore, it shouldn’t surprise anyone that the list of things to learn from cats is – different.

1. Love yourself first; make yourself a priority at all times.

2. Focus on what you really want and be relentless about getting it. “No” is not an option.

3. Teach people how to treat you.

4. Act like you are royalty. Be confident on the outside even if you’re not always there on the inside.

5. Aim high.

I warned you it would be different. Still good advice, if a bit less sentimental.

One of my favorite movie scenes is toward the end of Breakfast at Tiffany’s when Audrey Hepburn’s character tries to prove she doesn’t need anybody and abandons her cat, an orange tabby just like mine, in a rainstorm. Then she rushes back to rescue him from a life on the streets and cuddles him under her coat. Gets me every time.

That’s how I feel about Radley although I’m never sure if I rescued him or he rescued me. I do, however, know what he would say.

Leave a Reply

