Dixie Darr

A Mystery to Me

In Books, Uncategorized on May 5, 2017 at 9:53 am

As a kid, I read all the Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden books I could get my hands on and later discovered Agatha Christie. Then I abandoned mysteries. In my twenties, I was all about science fiction, reading Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Ray Bradbury, Robert Heinlein, and Frank Herbert’s Dune series. A friend told me he thought I’d like Larry McMurtry’s All My Friends are Going to be Strangers. He was right; I read every McMurtry book that came out through the exquisite Lonesome Dove and several beyond that, although there was no matching that one.

Edging toward thirty, I turned to nonfiction, reading all kinds of books about philosophy and writing and finding your calling and nature.

Somehow I found my way to Louis L’Amour. I started with Riders of the Purple Sage (because purple) and then ran his entire collection of westerns. When I read his autobiography The Education of a Wandering Man, I adopted his habit of making a list of every book I read, which I continue to this day.

In the mid 1980s a friend told me about Tony Hillerman. I became a devoted Hillerman fan and through him, a fanatic reader of mysteries. I love finding new mystery writers and tend to read every book they write. Here’s a list of my favorite mystery authors with some commentary.

Tony Hillerman – when he passed away in 2008, I mourned as well the loss of his characters, Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn, so I was thrilled to learn that Hillerman’s daughter Anne intended to carry on the series. Her first book, Spider Woman’s Daughter, was terrific, but I was very disappointed in Rock With Wings. I’m cautiously optimistic about the just-released Song of the Lion. I’m #53 on the holds list, so it could be a while. I especially enjoy her emphasis on Chee’s wife, Officer Bernadette Manuelito.

Sue Grafton – I was browsing in the mystery section of Woodbury Library in 1991, before the days when every library (and every other entity in the universe) had a web site, and I found H is for Homicide. After reading that, I started over at A is for Alibi and have read every book since, three times so far. I’m looking forward to Y is for Yesterday coming out in August but also already dreading that Z is only a year or two away. Nobody even begins to fill her shoes.

Margaret Coel—the Wind River series appealed to me because it was set in Wyoming and gave me a chance to learn about the Arapaho living on the reservation there. That Coel lives in Boulder is a plus. I met her at a Colorado Authors League lunch once and turned all fan girl. I was sorry to learn that she is ending the series after Winter’s Child, the latest book.

Here in no particular order are some other mystery series authors whose books I look forward to every year.

Sara Pretsky

Marcia Muller

J A Jance

C J Box

Dana Stabenow

Craig Johnson

Nevada Barr

Julie Smith

Susan Wittig Albert

Lisa Lutz

I’m always on the lookout for new authors if you’d like to make a recommendation.

Leave a Reply

