Dixie Darr

Somebody Stop Me

In Books, Lent - Season of Change, Uncategorized on April 11, 2017 at 9:57 am

library booksLent – Season of Change, Day 36

These are all library books I currently have checked out, but, sadly, it is not all of them. I have twelve more books and a DVD in the other room, the one I’m reading on my desk, and a couple in the car, ready to go back to the library. And that doesn’t count the the audio or Kindle books or I have downloaded.

Somebody should stop me from this – what shall we call it? An addiction? An obsession?

I guess you could call me a serial hoarder because they make me return them periodically.

I’ve always been bad at this. As soon as I hear about an interesting book, I request it from the library. It’s gotten worse since I installed the Library Extension app on my browser. It acts on amazon and other booksellers to show you when a book you look at is available at your local library. Just click and place a hold. You can see how dangerous this could be.

Obviously, I won’t be able to read all these books. My only solace is that I’m helping my library drive up circulation, which helps them get funding and justify important services and positions. Hey, whatever I can do to help. To me, the library is the most important resource in town. Any town.

Note to whoever is in charge of returning my library books when I die. If they’re from somewhere other than Denver or Jefferson County, return them to Jeffco. That’s where I get all my interlibrary loans.

It’s National Library Week. What have you done to help your library?

 

Leave a Reply

