Dixie Darr

The Walkability Factor

In Home, Lent - Season of Change, Uncategorized on April 7, 2017 at 8:38 am

lifestyle-city-walking-people-urban-scene-22371860Lent – Season of Change, Day 33

I’ve mentioned before how much I’m enjoying reading Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney, and I’ll have more to say about that when I finish it. That will be sooner than expected because the library wants it back tomorrow. I had enjoyed reading at a more leisurely pace than normal as I stopped to look up maps of Manhattan.

It reminds me how much I liked walking in my old neighborhood, a couple miles a day almost every day. Several physical problems now limit my walking, although I’m trying to build up my stamina. Still, when I walk around Olde Town, I realize how much more fun it was to walk in Highland, a hilly urban neighborhood with houses from every decade since the 1850s and little business areas every few blocks.

When I decided to move, one of the main things I wanted in the new place was walkability. The real estate sites all included a walkability score for each location, and I was astonished that the score for Olde Town was actually higher than Highland. Here we have a whole town with restaurants, bars (lots of bars), shops, churches, a library, a park, plenty of services and soon, a light rail station. The only thing we’re missing is a grocery store.

Yet, I miss walking in the old neighborhood, which was just more interesting somehow. Highland has changed quite a bit in the five years since I left and it was changing even then with big modern townhouses replacing small brick homes and young white families taking over the older, more ethnic vibe.

The same thing is happening here, except there aren’t many ethnic minorities to displace. Transit-oriented development (TOD) continues to transform the area, which makes it a bit more interesting to watch. Maybe by the time I’m 85 like Lillian Boxfish, a day which, oddly enough, keeps getting closer, I’ll stroll around Olde Town and remember the times I’ve had.

Leave a Reply

