Dixie Darr

The Case for Kindle, Part I

In Books, Lent - Season of Change on March 31, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Lent – Season of Change, Day 27

I know what you’re going to say. “I like REAL books. I like holding them, and I like the way they smell.” Don’t even. I don’t really care if you prefer “real” books. Just don’t go acting like they are somehow superior to ebooks. Different, si. Better? No.

I resisted the lure of the Kindle for several years for one reason – I preferred using the library instead of buying books. When I learned that the library was starting to offer ebooks, that argument disappeared. I received my Kindle Paperwhite as a Christmas gift in 2010 and it immediately became my all-time favorite toy, a position it continues to hold today.

Here are a few reasons in favor of using a Kindle:

It’s lightweight, which makes it easy to carry in my bag or hold if I want to read lying down.

The lighted screen and adjustable font mean I can read it anywhere and don’t have to use my glasses. These features can also help those with dyslexia.

It holds hundreds of books so I always have a library with me (currently 577 books), not just one book.

Just touch the screen to highlight or bookmark favorite passages.

The built in dictionary provides a definition with a simple touch.

Want to read the book right now? Both the library and the online bookstore offer instant downloads.

You don’t even have to buy a Kindle. You can use the free app on any electronic device.

If you’re an Amazon Prime member, you can borrow a Kindle book for free every month. Or enjoy unlimited reading of over a thousand books, magazines, audio books, comics, and articles through Prime Reading.

Join Kindle Unlimited for $9.99 a month, and you have access to as many books as you like.

Many books are available free or for $.99 – $2.99 through special promotions.

Remember, this isn’t an either/or choice. I read “real” books as well as Kindle books, and I listen to audio books. I want to have access to books in any and all formats. After all, not all books are available in all formats. Not yet.

More on this tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

