Dixie Darr

My Life Story in Ten Objects

In Auntie Flat, Home, Lent - Season of Change on March 28, 2017 at 3:31 pm


Lent – Season of Change, Day 24

Do your possessions tell your history? Here’s a fun exercise given to me several years ago by an art journaling teacher and my answers. List ten objects that tell your history.

  1. Baby shoes – They’re brown, ankle high and ugly. The right one is more of a left shoe than the left shoe is because my right foot turned inward. I had to wear them day and night and reportedly hated them.
  2. Toy cupboard – Made for me by my Grandpa Darr when I was just a baby and my most prized possession.
  3. Tiny Terri Lee – My last doll. My mom made most of her clothes, plus she has a crocheted dress made by my Grandma Wood.
  4. Five Little Peppers – Written in the 1880s, it’s the only book I remember my mom reading to me, although there were surely others. I still have my copy, tattered and much loved.
  5. Beatles pictures – 8 x 10 glossies that came inside the White Album. The Fab Four still define my teenage years. I saw them live at Red Rocks and try to work that into the conversation as often as possible.
  6. Diploma – It took me three colleges, six majors, and twelve years to earn my bachelor’s degree, and it changed my life.
  7. Buffet – My space-aged looking buffet came from the old May D&F at Zeckendorf Plaza in 1969 and still looks way more modern than anything you own. I also have a valet and double dresser, my only designer furniture. If my nieces don’t want them, they’ll go to the Kirkland Museum when I die.
  8. Fiesta Pitchers – I started collecting Fiestaware about 25 years ago when they introduced their deep purple color. I now have eight of their iconic full-sized pitchers in different colors and a cupboard full of other dishes, too. Purple is still my favorite.
  9. Purple computer – I was a relatively early adopter of computers and the internet. This one came about twenty years later and, although dead for several years, remains the only computer I ever loved. Last year I tried to get the guy at PC City to use it as an empty case to build me a new computer, but he convinced me to buy a new one instead. 😦
  10. Dishwasher – The dishwasher is not my favorite thing about my condo; that would be its location in Olde Town Arvada and its layout, but those aren’t things. When I moved here, I had done without a dishwasher for over thirty years.

So there you have it. Not a very impressive list, and if I were doing this assignment today, I wouldn’t pick all the same objects, although most of them would remain the same. What would you choose?

Leave a Reply

