Dixie Darr

Some Books

In Auntie Flat, Books, Lent - Season of Change, small houses on March 22, 2017 at 3:09 pm


Lent – Season of Change, Day 19

Since I’m known as a reader before anything else, people frequently ask me what kind of books I like. I prefer books by and about women, especially women artists, and I especially like books in which a house figures prominently. I can easily explain the first—I am a woman with artistic or artsy leanings, if not exactly an artist. The second is probably a little more complex. Home is very important to me, dating back to when I was three and my grandparents made their garden shed into a playhouse for me and my brother when we visited them in the summers. Imagine—I had my own private little house at age three. I think I’ve been trying to recreate that ever since.

Today, my condo is intensely personal, which is to say odd. It makes me happy and that is all I care about as I don’t have guests.

So, women, art, and a house. That describes three of my all-time favorite books, Violet Clay by Gail Godwin, Pocketful of Names by Joe Coomer (yes a male author managed to sneak in), and Broken for You by Stephanie Kallos. I’ve read each of them at least three times. This is about the last one.

Broken for You features two compelling protagonists, one young and heartbroken, the other old and dying. Septuagenarian Margaret Hughes lives alone in a Seattle mansion filled with valuable antiques. Wanda Schultz came west to search for the boyfriend who dumped her. When Margaret rents a room in her house to Wanda, both of their lives change as they form a surrogate family and discover ways to right some very dark wrongs.

I mention it because the Kindle version is currently on sale for $1.99. You might want to snap it up. The other two, sadly, are not available in Kindle, but I’m thinking I may have to head over to Abe Books and buy used copies, so the next time I want to read them, I won’t have to wait to pick them up at the library. Some books you just need to have on hand.

Leave a Reply

