Dixie Darr

Call me Garbo

In Books, Lent - Season of Change, work, writing on March 16, 2017 at 1:31 pm


Lent – Season of Change, Day 14

I am not a people person. That doesn’t mean I don’t like anybody or that I never want to spend time with other people. Most of the time, however, I crave solitude. I want to be alone.

I was a latchkey kid before we were known as latchkey kids. My mom always said I raised myself, which actually might explain a lot. Looking back on my life from my advanced years, I can see solitude as the organizing principle of my life. My favorite activities all my life have been reading and writing, both of which require enormous lengths of time spent alone.

Debbie Millman calls this your “non-negotiable.” One of the most influential designers working today, Debbie is also a writer, educator, artist, brand consultant and host of the popular podcast, Design Matters.

Her own non-negotiable was living in Manhattan. “I was very clear and very sure that I wanted to live in Manhattan. I wanted that more than anything. And I did whatever it took and made whatever sacrifices I had to.” When she teaches students how to create an artistic life, she asks them to identify what is the one thing they want more than anything? What is the first thing they need to do to make that happen? What are they willing to sacrifice?

I’m not sure I could have named my non-negotiable early in my life, but I can certainly see the value of knowing that – and accepting it — as soon as possible. It could have made some things so much easier.

Leave a Reply

