Dixie Darr

Creature of Habit

In Lent - Season of Change on March 7, 2017 at 10:23 am

Lent – Season of Change, Day 6

I was very upset last week when my car died and I couldn’t go to church. More upset, at least initially, at the disturbance of my routine than the dead car. Every Sunday I go to church and then out to lunch at my favorite Italian restaurant. Tuesdays and Thursdays I go to the gym. I go out for breakfast on Wednesdays, always to the same place where I order the same thing, and Fridays I have lunch with a friend. On Saturday comes my weekly visit to both the Arvada and Smiley libraries. You might say I’m a creature of habit, but I like my life. This is the way I designed it.

Sometimes, though, I think it wouldn’t hurt to shake things up a bit.

That’s what drew me to “The Unrest Cure” by Saki, pen name of British author H.H. Munro. If you’ve read anything by him, you know his stories are a bit, well, odd. This one is about a man and his sister who dislike any change in their regular routine. He tells this to a man on a train who recommends an “unrest cure” where they would disrupt their lives.

Another man overhears this and takes it upon himself to provide an unorthodox, even macabre, remedy. I’ll let you read it for yourself to find out the details.

After reading this story, I concluded that having a boring routine isn’t such a bad thing at all. Still, if you want me to do something that isn’t on my regular schedule, feel free to call.

Leave a Reply

