Dixie Darr

Judging a Book by its Title

In Uncategorized on February 2, 2017 at 6:20 am


book

Sometimes the title of a book is so perfect that you just have to read it. That’s why I ordered I Like You Just Fine When You’re Not Around from the library. I mean, don’t we all feel like that sometimes? I know I do. Really, I feel like that most of the time. The book is about Tig Monahan, a psychologist who takes care of everyone else, but can’t seem to handle her own life. “When I’m alone I know just what to do,” she says.

The characters are warm and funny and smart, exactly the kind of people I like to have in my life. Tig’s life unravels as she loses her boyfriend and her job while trying to take care of her mother with Alzheimer’s and her sister’s newborn, colicky baby after the sister leaves in the middle of the night. It’s too much, and Tig falls apart while managing – just barely and with a little help from her friends – to keep everything afloat.

We are only one month into the year, but this book is getting a four star (out of four) rating in my book diary and will definitely show up on my list of best books of the year.

Leave a Reply

