Dixie Darr

Epiphany

In Uncategorized on January 6, 2017 at 8:11 pm

epiphanyEpiphany

This was a word I knew long before I knew it had any religious connotation. In secular terms, an epiphany is a moment when you suddenly feel that you understand, or suddenly become conscious of, something that is very important to you. I’ve had many of those in my life.

In Christianity, this is the day the wise men from the East finally made it to the manger where Jesus was born and the revelation to them that the baby was the son of God.

When they left, an angel appeared to Joseph in a dream (another epiphany?) and warned him to flee to Egypt because Herod wanted to kill the baby. There the small family remained for twelve years until Herod’s death.

It was on Epiphany in 2002 when I started attending church. The horrific events of 9/11/01 made me start thinking about the need for spiritual development, although I wasn’t conscious then of the connection. Although my involvement with Highlands United Methodist Church has grown way beyond the one hour a week I anticipated, I still don’t consider myself to be a religious person and not a believer in any traditional sense. Church continues to fill a need that I find myself unable to articulate. Maybe someday that will be revealed to me in my own private epiphany.

Leave a Reply

