Dixie Darr

The Eighth Day of Christmas and New Year’s Day

In Uncategorized on January 1, 2017 at 8:33 pm


molly1

Sunday 01/01/17

The Eighth Day of Christmas and New Year’s Day

This morning I learned that my friend Joan died of ALS. It was not a good way to start the new year. I’ve heard that some people believe that whatever you do on New Year’s Day is what you will do the rest of the year. If that’s true, then I will spend the year in mourning, which unfortunately doesn’t seem far off the mark.

Joan was a Sister of St. Joseph, full of joy and curiosity. She loved the Colorado mountains, dogs and genealogy and Venice and music (she had a PhD in conducting). She spent her time teaching, doing research and writing. I can still hear her boisterous laugh.

Rest easy, my friend. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

