Dixie Darr

The Second Day of Christmas

In Uncategorized on December 26, 2016 at 4:56 pm


bean_ham_soup

Monday, December 26, 2016

The Second Day of Christmas

The British call it Boxing Day; author Diane Greenwood Muir says today is Napping Day; to me, it’s Back to Reality Day, although based on my behavior of taking two naps today (so far), I should go with Diane’s terminology.

It’s all over but the cleaning up and putting away. I won’t take down my decorations until next weekend, and I’ll try to enjoy my trees and teddy bears and music for the next several days. My house always feels sad and bare when everything is packed up and back in my storage unit. I won’t think about that yet. The rush up to Christmas always goes so fast. For a month all we do is prepare and then suddenly, it’s over. For now, I have thank you notes to write and ham to stew for ham and beans.

Leave a Reply

