Dixie Darr

My Literary Advent Calendar, Day Twenty-Three

In Uncategorized on December 19, 2016 at 6:01 pm


herod

Monday, December 19, 2016

The Thought That Counts

If, as Herod, we fill our lives with things, and again with things; if we consider ourselves so unimportant that we must fill every moment of our lives with action, when will we have time to make the long slow journey across the desert as did the magi? Or sit and watch the stars as did the shepherds? Or brood over the coming of the child as did Mary? For each one of us there is a desert to travel, a star to discover, and a being within ourselves to bring to life.” – Anonymous

A few years ago, I opted out of gift giving and asked people to stop buying me gifts. I had moved from my house of almost 30 years to a one-bedroom condo and took load after load of excess stuff to charity. I no longer had the room or the desire to acquire more things.

The truth is I still have too much stuff. I haven’t yet achieved the time to travel my desert, discover my star and bring the being within me to life. But I’m trying.

Some of my family and friends still feel the need to give me gifts and tell me they like to give presents and that I should accept it graciously. If, as the saying goes, it’s the thought that counts, I would prefer that they spare me a loving thought, write me a letter, an email, or even a text to show they are thinking of me throughout the year and I will do the same. Maybe then, we can focus on the simple gifts of Christmas.

Leave a Reply

