Dixie Darr

My Literary Advent Calendar, Day Thirteen

In Uncategorized on December 10, 2016 at 7:52 pm

paul-simonFriday, December 9, 2016

I haven’t talked about peace, which is the theme of week two of Advent, maybe because I don’t feel much peace these days or see it in the near future . Maya Angelou wrote a lovely poem, Amazing Peace, that you can read here or watch her read it herself at the White House in 2005 here.

I decided to defer to the tune that played in my head whenever I contemplated the word “peace” and try to find a way to make it meaningful in our world full of turmoil. It turns out that the lyrics of Peace Like a River, written by Paul Simon in 1971, are curiously relevant today, especially the second and third verses.

Peace like a river ran through the city
Long past the midnight curfew
We sat starry-eyed
Oh, we were satisfied

And I remember
Misinformation followed us like a plague
Nobody knew from time to time
If the plans where changed
Oh, if the plans were changed

You can beat us with wires
You can beat us with chains
You can run out your rules
But you know you can’t outrun the history train
I‘ve seen a glorious day

Four in the morning
I woke up from out of my dreams
Nowhere to go but back to sleep
But I’m reconciled
Oh, oh, oh, I’m gonna be up for a while
Oh, oh, oh, I’m gonna be up for a while
Oh, oh, oh, I’m gonna be up for a while

© 1971 Words and Music by Paul Simon

Leave a Reply

