Dixie Darr

Confessions of a Bookaholic

In Books, Uncategorized on January 15, 2011 at 8:52 pm

One of my goals this year should be to read less. Last year, I read 139 books, including audio books, but not including ebooks. I know this because I have kept a book diary since I read years ago that Louis L’Amour kept one all his life. Also, I read so many books that I don’t always remember what I’ve read. Occasionally, I will pick up a book that sounds familiar and I can check my book diary to see if and when I read it.

Like many bookaholics, I read more than one book at a time—usually three or four. Today, I finished a novel, Just Breathe by Susan Wiggs. I am also reading Un-Marketing by Scott Stratten and Creative is a Verb by Patti Digh.

In the car, I always listen to a CD book, currently The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver.

Inside, I listen to audio books that I download from the library. Last night, I finished listening to Ape House by Sara Gruen and tonight I will start either Room by Emma Donoghue or The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson.

In addition, I have 19 books checked out from the library and 16 requested on hold, three of which will be ready for pickup tomorrow. I’ve ordered Making Handmade Books by Alisa Golden from Amazon because I not only like to read books, I also like to make them. It’s a sickness. Somebody stop me.

Leave a Reply

