Dixie Darr

The Auntie Flat Rises Again

In Uncategorized on January 7, 2011 at 6:11 pm

My dream home is an open, smallish, loft-like space with just enough room for the things I really love and use. Since my brother (B) and sister in law (S) have long wanted to live in my North Denver neighborhood, earlier this year we started talking about how we could fit houses for both of us on my lot. B, an architect, designed a beautiful traditional house for them, which would sit on the front of the lot. My loft would be above the garage in back. These structures are typically called “granny flats,” but since I’m nobody’s granny, I dubbed mine the Auntie Flat.
We spent hours deciding exactly what we wanted in our homes, and B spent many more hours designing them. We met with contractors, engineers, and city officials. The biggest obstacle seemed to be my location in a national historic district, but my house (built in 1890) isn’t unique and isn’t in very good shape, so we thought (mistakenly, as it turned out) that problem could be overcome.
Mentally, I was practically moved in. I had chosen paint and tile colors and arranged my furniture. You can read my blog about it here: The Auntie Flat.
Alas, I guess it wasn’t meant to be. After months of planning and high hopes, B determined that he couldn’t make the numbers work. There would be no auntie flat. I was crushed. And that was when I got sick. I don’t think the two events were unrelated.
For the record, I haven’t given up on the auntie flat. I have no idea how to make it happen, but I remain determined to try and open to all possibilities.
After reading the latest entry in my favorite blog, Notes from the Voodoo Café, I decided that I, too would put it out into the universe. I want a small, open living space, 500-600 square feet, location negotiable. It could be a modular home, an apartment, loft, converted industrial space. Whatever works. It would be nice if it were walking distance to shops, restaurants, and a park. I’d like a place to sit outside and read or write, but I’m pretty much over the gardening thing.
Any ideas? As I said before, I have no idea how to make this happen, except to ask for help. Help!

Leave a Reply

