Dixie Darr

What will you learn this year?

In Uncategorized on January 1, 2011 at 7:37 am

My theme for the year is learning. I have a few specific topics on my list and I know they will lead to other, maybe unimagined, paths. One thing leads to another. Recognizing this peripatetic nature of learning, my goal is simply to focus on learning wherever it may lead me and document it as much as possible.

This year the oldest Baby Boomers, including my brother, begin turning 65. I have a few years to go before I reach that milestone myself, but I have no intention of retiring either from work or from learning. Famed photographer, musician, writer and director Gordon Parks said, “My goal every day is to stretch my horizons. At 83, I’m a better writer, a better photographer, a better musician–a better everything–simply because I keep an open mind.” I’d like to be like that. My plan, if you can call it that, is simply to nurture enthusiasm and curiosity.

I may take a few classes and join a few groups, but most of my learning will be informal. I will certainly read dozens of books, blogs, and articles. And this blog will be the repository for my learning journey. I hope you will join me by posting comments, questions, and resources and by sharing your own learning adventures.

  1. What a great post to start off the new year! One of the things I will be learning this year is sign language.

    It will be interesting to see how your journey of learning unfolds.

Leave a Reply

